2019 CAPA-CT Annual Conference will be held on Nov 2 at Yale University



2019 Annual Conference




Theme: “In-Betweenness”: Chinese-American Scholars in 2019 and Beyond


Date: Saturday, November 2, 2019

Location: 63 High Street, Linsly-Chittenden Hall Room 101, Yale University, New Haven, CT 06511
(https://classrooms.yale.edu/classrooms?page=1#classrooms-page-1 click LC 101),

Registration*: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/in-betweenness-chinese-american-professors-in-2019-and-beyond-tickets-77872104561

Conference Announcement: www.CAPA-CT.org



09:00 – 09:30 Registration

Registration desk (Profs. Miaowei Weng, Xinyi Lu & Yong Zhu)

Member enrollment (Profs. Andy Hao, Jing’an Tang & Congsheng Wu)


09:30 – 09:45 Welcome by Prof. Xiusheng Yang

Letter from Yale President Peter Salovey, introduced by Richard Yang

Letter from U.S. Senator Chris Murphy, introduced by Jian-Zhong Lin

CAPA-CT Beacon Award** to:

Dr. Henry Lee

Dr. T.P. Ma

Dr. Haifan Lin

by Profs. Jian-Zhong Lin & Richard Yang

10:00 – 11:45 Session I Beyond STEM

Speaker (25 min.): Dr. Henry Lee (Introduced by Prof. Miaowei Weng

Speaker (25 min.): Mr. Haipei Xue (Introduced by Prof. Jian-Zhong Lin)


Roundtable: 55 Min. (Moderator: Prof. Miaowei Weng)

Panelists: Dr. Henry Lee, Mr. Haipei Xue, Prof. Amy Zeng, Prof. Jian-Zhong Lin, Prof. Xiaohong He, Prof. Xinlong Weng, & Prof. Henan Cheng.


11:45 – 13:00 Lunch, (Greetings from invited speakers & other professional organizations)

CAPA-CT Business Meeting, Moderator: Prof. Xiusheng Yang

  • Board Reports of Annual activities: (Prof. Yan Quan Liu) including 2019 China Trip Report (Prof. Andy Hao) & Membership report: (Profs. Andy Hao, Yong Zhu & Jing’an Tang)
  • Treasurer report: (Prof. Xinyi Lu)
  • Auditor report: (Prof. Guocun Yang, or Prof. Yan Quan Liu)
  • Board Election: (Prof. Qian Wu)
  • Adjournment: (Prof. Xiusheng Yang)
  • Vendors exhibition

13:00 – 14:45 Session II STEM

Speaker (25 min.): Prof. T.P. Ma (Introduced by Prof. Xinyi Lu)

Speaker (25min.): Prof. Haifan Lin (Introduced by Prof. Xiusheng Yang)

Roundtable: 55 min. (Moderator: Prof. Richard Yang)

Panelists: Prof. T.P. Ma, Prof. Haifan Lin, Prof. Qian Wu, Prof. Xiusheng Yang

14:45 – 15:00 Adjourn by New Elected President of CAPA-CT

* All Chinese-American professors are warmly invited, as well as visiting professors, university scholars, researchers, guests, and others who are interested in the conference are welcome.

* 2019 CAPA-CT membership due is preferred but not required.

** CAPA-CT Beacon Award for Excellence recognizes exemplary contributions of its members and supporters to various facets of academic life.

Posted in Announcement, Event

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *